MEDIA RELEASE -12.8.21

MEDIA RELEASE

December 8, 2021

CFL Players’ Association ready to celebrate return of Grey Cup game and festival to Hamilton

Hamilton, ON – The CFL Players’ Association (CFLPA), along with its partners, are ready to join in the celebrations and contribute to the energy and excitement for CFL fans and the city of Hamilton leading into the 108th Grey Cup game on Sunday, December 12.

This year, the CFLPA has planned programming that considers pandemic-response protocols and respects in-person gatherings as much as possible.

This week, the CFLPA has partnered again with United Steelworkers Canada to drop off gifts for children at McMaster Children’s Hospital while also making a special donation to support local minor football in Hamilton. The CFLPA will host its annual State of the Union event virtually for the media on Friday, as well as release the 2021 CFLPA All-Stars at a special event later that evening.

In addition to these events, the CFLPA is giving thanks to those who are on the front lines of the pandemic in Hamilton by gifting identified front line workers from the Ontario Nurses Association (Local 70), the International Association of Fire Fighters (Local 288), Hamilton Police Association, and the Ontario Paramedic Association a special gift including two Grey Cup game tickets and a CFLPA prize pack.

Over the coming days, the CFLPA elected boards as well as the bargaining committee have planned a series of internal meetings to review the 2021 season and begin preparations for upcoming CBA negotiations.

Thursday, December 9

Children’s hospital toy drop-off (9 a.m. ET/6 a.m. PT) – McMaster Children’s Hospital – The CFLPA in partnership with the United Steelworkers will drop off 500 plush toys for children getting care in the hospital.

Presentation to Hamilton Minor Football Association (4:00 p.m. ET/noon PT) – Tim Horton’s Field – The CFLPA in partnership with United Steelworkers will make a commitment to the Hamilton Minor Football Association to support its annual summer skills development camp which will help keep football in the community thriving.

Friday, December 10

CFLPA State of the Union (2 p.m. ET/11 a.m. PT)  via Zoom – The annual CFLPA State of the Union will feature CFLPA President Solomon Elimimian and Executive Director Brian Ramsay hosted via Zoom. A link will be provided to media, via press release, in advance of the event.

CFL/CFLPA Awards and All-Star announcement (9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT) – Hamilton Convention Centre – The 2021 CFLPA All-Star team will be announced
during the CFL Awards Party.

Sunday, December 12

108th Grey Cup game (6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT) – Tim Horton’s Field – Hamilton Tiger-Cats vs Winnipeg Blue Bombers


About the CFLPA
The Canadian Football League Players’ Association (CFLPA) is the union for professional football players in the Canadian Football League (CFL). Since 1965, the Association has worked to establish fair and reasonable working conditions while protecting the rights of all CFL players. In addition to negotiating and enforcing the terms of the Collective Bargaining Agreement (CBA), the CFLPA provides a variety of member services, builds corporate and community partnerships and works diligently for the betterment of its membership. Find us online at cflpa.com

For more information:  Jason Langvee, CFLPA Office, j.langvee@cflpa.com, 1-800-616-6865

View original article here Source