Pat Neufeld Named 2021 Cal Murphy ‘heart Of A Legend Award’ Winner

WINNIPEG, MB., March 22, 2022 – The Winnipeg Blue Bombers are pleased to announce Pat Neufeld as the 2021 recipient of the Cal Murphy ‘Heart of a Legend Award’ winner.

This award acknowledges the player who has shown ‘outstanding sportsmanship and dedication to the Canadian Football League and the community.’

Neufeld is currently one of the longest serving Blue Bombers, having joined the team in October of 2013 following a trade with the Saskatchewan Roughriders, after originally being selected by that club in the 2010 CFL Draft.

The Regina, SK product has played 82 regular-season games for the Blue Bombers from 2014-21 and 119 in his career, with 81 starts. A versatile guard and tackle, he has been an integral part of Winnipeg’s dominant offensive line play over the last few seasons and the team’s back-to-back Grey Cup championships in 2019 and 2021. Neufeld was named to both the West Division and CFL All-Star Teams for his work in 2021.

“It’s an honour to be selected for an award like this,” said Neufeld. “I was researching it and there have been some phenomenal Blue Bombers who have won this award from Milt Stegall to Obby Khan to Andrew Harris to Dave Mudge. It’s quite humbling to be mentioned alongside those guys.”

A proud Canadian who played his college football at the University of Saskatchewan, Neufeld has played an active role in the Canadian Football League Players’ Association and is always among the busiest players in representing the Blue Bombers at a variety of community initiatives.

Cal Murphy was a hall of fame coach and general manager for the Blue Bombers from 1983-86 and helped the club capture three Grey Cup championships in 1984, 1988 and 1990. He was a two-time winner of the Annis Stukus Trophy as the CFL’s Coach of the Year (1983, 1984) and is second only to Bud Grant (102) on the club’s all-time wins list (86). Murphy, who was instrumental in helping this city host its first Grey Cup game in 1991, was inducted in the Winnipeg Football Club Hall of Fame in 2002 and the Canadian Football Hall of Fame in 2004.

Past ‘Heart of a Legend’ Award Winners:
2021 – Pat Neufeld
2017 – Chris Randle
2016 – Andrew Harris
2015 – Bryant Turner, Jr.
2014 – Carl Volny
2013 – Kito Poblah
2012 – Kito Poblah
2011 – Obby Khan
2010 – Lavar Glover
2009 – Obby Khan
2008 – Obby Khan
2007 – Milt Stegall
2006 – Milt Stegall
2005 – Matt Sheridan
2004 – Moe Elewonibi
2003 – Khari Jones
2002 – Moe Elewonibi
2001 – Dave Mudge

View original article here Source